Tags

Children are proof we’ve been here
 
 
American Heart Assoc. Annual Fundraising Event

American Heart Association Annual Fundraising Event

“He was a quiet hero, a man of subtle strength
Many ways a wonder, though perfect he was not
Always gracious and giving, forever my flaws somehow forgot.
His shining smile, his wit and wisdom, become precious memories profound in my heart
Known to all and respected by many
His life a vivid painting, a masterful work of art”
– a Father’s Legacy
 

Even as their Mother, I will never know the full impact of what David’s death has meant to each of my children. His sudden death left an indelible mark on their lives and in their hearts as unique as their individual relationships were with him.

41cmvTcIxKL__AA258_PIkin4,BottomRight,-45,22_AA280_SH20_OU29_It took away their “home” – their base. They lost their defender, their place of retreat – refuge, their Hero. Regardless of what the loss is called or how it is described – it represented a void in their lives that even I could not fill. It’s been difficult to watch my children grieve the loss of their Dad. He was so many things to each of them – he celebrated the gift of their lives in his life everyday. He admired and valued his children. He cultivated their independence and they learned to successfully govern themselves at a very young age. He relished in their humor [sarcasm] and quick wit. They always came home to share their stories, their accomplishments – their disappointments with their Dad. And he was always there, always present in the moments of their lives. I was lucky to have had such a great role model for my children.

Alucekids2Dear Ducks, I haven’t always known what to say, and sometimes I’ve said the wrong things – please forgive me of that. In those moments when it seemed as though I didn’t care – how you were feeling – it’s then that I cared the most. A quiet, safe place to share your sorrow, memories – grief. I can’t imagine what all of this feels like for you, to have lost something so grand in your lives. I am truly sorry. I Love you ~
 

He gave up everything in hopes that one day his children would know the power of “choice” – he struggled most of his life to regain what had been lost, but never – not once did he ever regret his “choice” that his family would always come first. He taught you courage and fortitude by his example – and you’ve honored the legacy by the choices that you’ve made in your own lives. He would be so proud and my heart is full of nothing but gratitude that what he did was not in vain.

Alucekids3“The greatest legacy one can pass on to one’s children and grandchildren is not money or other material things accumulated in one’s life, but rather a legacy of character and faith” – Billy Graham

… the story that you’ll tell his grandchildren one day won’t come in the form of words it will be in the fullness of his legacy – lived out in your lives.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

